Dog Management Policy draft review

Contributions to this consultation are now closed for evaluation and review.


Second stage of consultation results


The second stage of consultation closed on 28 July 2021. Thank you to everyone who took the time to have their say.

In total we had:
  • 990 digital survey responses via Your Say
  • 2 handwritten survey submissions
  • 41 emails and letters from the public
  • 7 letters from organisations
  • 1 petition
  • 2 in-person meetings
Officers are now compiling all the feedback which will be presented to Aldermen at a workshop on 6 September 2021.



First stage of consultation results


Thank you to everyone who took the time to have their say on the first stage of this record-breaking consultation.

In total we had:

  • 2944 digital survey responses via Your Say
  • 82 digital story submissions via Your Say
  • 24 handwritten survey submissions
  • 52 emails
  • 7 letters from the public
  • 5 letters from organisations
  • 2 petitions

The results from stage one of the consultation are available to download from the document library.

The fee structure was formally adopted at the council meeting on 31 May 2021 and is no longer part of the draft review.




Project Overview


We are undertaking the second stage of community consultation on the draft Dog Management Policy, and are seeking community feedback on the revised draft.

The first stage of consultation was to determine the community's feedback on a variety of proposed changes to inform the draft policy.

This second stage of consultation is the statutory component of the Dog Management Policy review process that puts a specific policy to the community for feedback.

This draft policy has been refined through consideration of the feedback received in the first stage of consultation, along with other considerations including health, safety and environmental factors.

Second round feedback will then be evaluated and a final version of the policy will be produced for formal consideration by council.



Background


The Dog Control Act of 2000 requires councils to develop and implement a policy relating to dog management within their municipal area and this policy must be formally reviewed every 5 years.

There have been two reviews of this policy since that time. These reviews were adopted by council on 25 February 2008 and 16 November 2015 respectively.

This year's draft was created after discussions with Parks and Wildlife, the Environmental Management branch of council, the Tracks and Trails committee and other relevant stakeholders.

Following a workshop with Aldermen in October 2020, an initial four-week period of consultation was conducted.

Running from 15 March until 12 April with a two-week extension of two weeks from 21 April to 4 May, it resulted in 3,216 responses, two petitions to council and other forms of feedback.

The feedback received during the first round of consultation was then presented to another workshop with Alderman, resulting in the revised draft now being considered during this second consultation period.

More information on dog ownership in Clarence and the Dog Management Policy can be accessed at https://www.ccc.tas.gov.au/living/animals/dogs/


UPDATE (16 July 2021):

We have today made the decision to remove question 8 currently being asked in our Your Say survey for the latest round of consultation on the Dog Management Policy.

The question has been mistakenly setup on a false premise that there are current reserve activity plans endorsed by council that recommend dogs be on-lead in the relevant reserve. This is incorrect and as a result we will be removing this question and we won’t rely on feedback collected so far on this question to shape the draft policy.

We apologise for the mistake and look forward to continuing to receive your feedback on this important policy in the remaining two weeks of consultation.

Further information on this decision can be read here.



Have Your Say


Have your say by

  • Completing the survey on the revised draft

This survey will close on Wednesday 28 July 2021.

The results of this consultation will inform the refinement of the draft master plan.



Second stage of consultation results


The second stage of consultation closed on 28 July 2021. Thank you to everyone who took the time to have their say.

In total we had:
  • 990 digital survey responses via Your Say
  • 2 handwritten survey submissions
  • 41 emails and letters from the public
  • 7 letters from organisations
  • 1 petition
  • 2 in-person meetings
Officers are now compiling all the feedback which will be presented to Aldermen at a workshop on 6 September 2021.



First stage of consultation results


Thank you to everyone who took the time to have their say on the first stage of this record-breaking consultation.

In total we had:

  • 2944 digital survey responses via Your Say
  • 82 digital story submissions via Your Say
  • 24 handwritten survey submissions
  • 52 emails
  • 7 letters from the public
  • 5 letters from organisations
  • 2 petitions

The results from stage one of the consultation are available to download from the document library.

The fee structure was formally adopted at the council meeting on 31 May 2021 and is no longer part of the draft review.




Project Overview


We are undertaking the second stage of community consultation on the draft Dog Management Policy, and are seeking community feedback on the revised draft.

The first stage of consultation was to determine the community's feedback on a variety of proposed changes to inform the draft policy.

This second stage of consultation is the statutory component of the Dog Management Policy review process that puts a specific policy to the community for feedback.

This draft policy has been refined through consideration of the feedback received in the first stage of consultation, along with other considerations including health, safety and environmental factors.

Second round feedback will then be evaluated and a final version of the policy will be produced for formal consideration by council.



Background


The Dog Control Act of 2000 requires councils to develop and implement a policy relating to dog management within their municipal area and this policy must be formally reviewed every 5 years.

There have been two reviews of this policy since that time. These reviews were adopted by council on 25 February 2008 and 16 November 2015 respectively.

This year's draft was created after discussions with Parks and Wildlife, the Environmental Management branch of council, the Tracks and Trails committee and other relevant stakeholders.

Following a workshop with Aldermen in October 2020, an initial four-week period of consultation was conducted.

Running from 15 March until 12 April with a two-week extension of two weeks from 21 April to 4 May, it resulted in 3,216 responses, two petitions to council and other forms of feedback.

The feedback received during the first round of consultation was then presented to another workshop with Alderman, resulting in the revised draft now being considered during this second consultation period.

More information on dog ownership in Clarence and the Dog Management Policy can be accessed at https://www.ccc.tas.gov.au/living/animals/dogs/


UPDATE (16 July 2021):

We have today made the decision to remove question 8 currently being asked in our Your Say survey for the latest round of consultation on the Dog Management Policy.

The question has been mistakenly setup on a false premise that there are current reserve activity plans endorsed by council that recommend dogs be on-lead in the relevant reserve. This is incorrect and as a result we will be removing this question and we won’t rely on feedback collected so far on this question to shape the draft policy.

We apologise for the mistake and look forward to continuing to receive your feedback on this important policy in the remaining two weeks of consultation.

Further information on this decision can be read here.



Have Your Say


Have your say by

  • Completing the survey on the revised draft

This survey will close on Wednesday 28 July 2021.

The results of this consultation will inform the refinement of the draft master plan.


Tell us what is important to you about dogs in Clarence

We want to hear from you about what matters to you regarding dogs in Clarence. Do you have a favourite walk you take with your dog? Perhaps you have a boisterous dog that loves the beaches in summer, or maybe you have a shy dog that is looking for a quiet place to walk on the lead? Or perhaps you don't own a dog but have had an encounter with one and have a story to share about how it affected you. By sharing your stories you will not only help council understand what matters to you but also those in the community who may think differently.

Thank you for sharing your story with us.
CLOSED: This discussion has concluded.

  • Keep to the current plan with one modification

    by Pamela and John, almost 3 years ago
    We have owned and walked dogs in the Clarence municipality for over forty years. In the early years management of dogs was indeed fairly poor, but over the years a good compromise has been reached with the existing policy. Our present dog, now old, so looks forward to her precious off lead time in the currently designated areas. We regularly use Bellerive Beach and have rarely seen an unruly dog there. We understand, however, that dogs should not run around uncontrolled and that the excuse of ‘it‘s only being friendly’ is no excuse for poor management. The excellent pathways provided... Continue reading
  • Please don't take my playground!

    by Ella W, almost 3 years ago
    My name is Ella. I go walking with my dad and our dog Teddy everyday in Anzac Park. After we do our dog walk, I go to the playground at Anzac Park to play. It's my favourite place to play in all of Hobart. It's not fair to take away this playground from the children who use it. The dogs love Anzac Park and the children love the playground. They shouldn't change Anzac Park at all. It's just right the way it is.


    Ella, 6 years old.

  • Inclusive community

    by Fair go for all, almost 3 years ago

    Instead of perpetuating division in the community, Government rules and policies should foster inclusive communities and educate people on all sides how to be good citizens. All significant change in our society has come from education and not segregation.

  • Effective control

    by Not playful, almost 3 years ago

    I have had several frightening experiences on Bellerive Beach (in the area that is supposed to be dog free). Walking alone at 9 months pregnant having a large dog jump up at my waist was awful...the owner, when he appeared, told me the dog was “just playful”...but experiences like that really leave you feeling shaky about all off-lead dogs. I have had plenty of occasions of dogs running at me or my family only to be told “he/she loves kids”... that’s not effective control. Off lead dogs make it hard to relax and feel safe.




  • Council needs to foster harmony not divisiveness by Ros M

    by Ros M, almost 3 years ago

    Surely Council’s major role is to foster harmony and unity in the community, to listen to all sides of an argument and not to encourage divisiveness between interest groups.

    The media reports give the impression that some councillors are taking the side of some complaining anti dog citizens rather that listening to all sides of the argument.

    Some councillors claim to be responding to complaints: dog owners are too busy enjoying their dog walks to be seeking an audience with councillors. Council is in danger of subjecting dogs and their owners to discrimination and cruelty, as compared with other people... Continue reading

  • Inclusive communties

    by fair go for all, almost 3 years ago

    The recent review of Public Open Space (POS) policy in Tasmania developed a draft State vision and number of goals and objectives for POS, which the proposed changes to dog accessible areas and current restrictions appear to be inconsistent with.


    The vision is that Tasmania will have a diverse, comprehensive and sustainable open space system, providing health and well-being, environmental, sport and recreation, social, and economic benefits. The Tasmanian open space system will be developed and managed in response to the needs of the community and visitors, whilst respecting our unique environment.


    The review identified that Councils need to support... Continue reading

  • Dogs are family

    by DogFamily, almost 3 years ago

    My husband and I are lucky enough to have 2 dogs, and they are our family. We do not live in the Clarence Councul area but frequent the dog friendly beaches and spend money at the local Bellerive cafes. We do everything with our dogs and do not visit places that exclude dogs or where they are not welcome.

    It is disheartening that we are now having to justify why we need to protect a number of dog friendly areas in the Clarence Council area.

    To exclude dogs is to exclude and discriminate against a large portion of the community... Continue reading

  • Dog poo bags are left everywhere

    by Lema Johnstone, almost 3 years ago

    No long ago at the beach with my children we where building a castle...diggin digging we were horrified to find dog poo in plastic black bags " ageing" by the sea.

    We have a dog, but we never leave the bags elsewhere but the bin. It is naive to think these plastic bags are not going to finish by the sea.

    I seriously believe the further away dog owners are allowed with dogs, the more likely are to leave their poo bags!

    If people are not responsible I suggest the Council to create " new jobs" :

    Environmental officers to... Continue reading

  • Where do I run without a dog chasing me? Community respect.

    by Lema Johnstone, almost 3 years ago
    Hello

    I am writing to tell everyone about my painful experienced a few weeks ago.

    While I went for a run at Roches beach, I was chased by two big dogs and no owner to be seen. I decided to slow down and the dogs continued barking at me. The owner showed of out of the carpark only to abused me. I replied " I am sorry but I do not, know your big dogs, they are scary! Saying this the man got infurated and literally corner me to the steps with his dogs. I was scared. Then he smiled... Continue reading

  • Lifetime of use of the ‘dogs off’ lead areas

    by ChrisH, almost 3 years ago

    My husband and I have lived in Clarence since 1976, 45 years. We lived on Gordon’s Hill and now Natone Hill, both have ‘Off Lead‘ areas that we have enjoyed, for our families and dogs exercising. We have respected both areas over these years, never having a bad experience with people or dogs.

    When we needed to downsize we chose an area with a OFF LEAD dog trail, as this was very important to us as dog owners. We use the Natone Hill and the Anzac Park areas daily, meeting with others everyday, it is a community of people and... Continue reading